Two Coats Selected Gallery Guide / June 19, 2017

Liz Ainslie at Transmitter, Bushwick, Brooklyn.

Our late-June selected exhibitions list is organized by neighborhood, and for those of you who are at your friends’ beach shack on the shoreline or stuck in a rustic cabin with the kids, I hope you have decent connectivity, because links are included for online browsing. Don’t forget the sunscreen.

Munro Galloway at Studio 10, Bushwick, Brooklyn.

Brooklyn

Munro Galloway: Chairs Missing  / Jun 16 – Jul 16/ STUDIO10 / 56 Bogart Street, Bushwick / studio10bogart.com

Liz Ainslie Armature: New Paintings / Jun 23 – Jul 30 / Transmitter / 1329 Willoughby Avenue, 2A, Bushwick / transmitter.nyc

Jean Shin: MetaCloud / Jun 11 – Aug 20 / Pioneer Works/ 159 Pioneer Street,  Redhook / www.pioneerworks.org

Monkey Riding Alligator (Group Exhibition) with  Ryan Crowley, Stuart Hawkins, Sacha Ingber, Fabienne Lasserre, Lindsay Lawson, and Lior Modan / Jun 10 – Jul 16 / Hometown / 1002 Metropolitan Avenue #21, Bushwick / www.hometownart.com
Marie HarnettMay 5-Jun 25 / Theodore:Art / 56 Bogart Street, Bushwick / theodoreart.com

Jim Herbert, Thomas Micchelli, and Jackie Shatz: Ardors / May 27  – Jun 30 / Centotto / 250 Moore Street #108, Bushwick / centotto.com

Matthew Mahler: UP & DOWN / Jun 3 – 25 / SARDINE / 286 Stanhope Street, Bushwick / sardinebk.com

Albert Herter: The Quincunx Aspect / Jun 3 – Jul 16 / Koenig & Clinton / 1329 Willoughby Avenue, Bushwick  / koenigandclinton.com

Queens
Three’s Company: Rebecca Morgan, Mark Mulroney, Montgomery Perry Smith / Jun 10 – Jul 29 / Mrs. / 60 – 40 56th Drive / www.mrsgallery.com.
Jillian Mayer at Andrew Edlin, 212 Bowery

Lower East Side

Jillian Mayer, Dasha Shishkin, and Summer Wheat / Jun 21 – Aug 4 / Andrew Edlin / 212 Bowery / edlingallery.com

Michael Bell-Smith: Material /May 19 – Jun 25/ Foxy Production / 2 East Broadway, 200 / foxyproduction.com

Mimi Gross: At the Beach / Shrine / 191 Henry Street  / shrine.nyc / Jun 2 – Jul 2 / shrine.nyc

Nature:  Jeanette Hayes, Michael Manning, Austin Lee, Patrick Jacobs, Robert Lazzarini, Jonas Lund  / Jun 8 – Jul 15 Reception: Thu Jun 8, 6pm / Castor Gallery / 254 Broome Street  / castorgallery.com

Eva Lake: Egyptian Extended / Jun 8 – Jul 15, 2017 Reception: Thu Jun 8 6pm / frosch&portmann / 53 Stanton Street  / froschportmann.com

Trudy Benson & Yann Gerstberger: TT52 / Jun 8 – Jul 28 Reception: Thu Jun 8, 6pm / Lyles & King  / 106 Forsyth Street  / www.lylesandking.com

Leidy Churchman, Mike Cloud, and Tyler Dobson: Elements of XXX,  Part II / May 18 – Jun 25 / 47 Canal / 291 Grand Street, 2nd Floor  / 47canal.us

Philip Pearlstein: Facing You / May 5 – Jun 30 / Betty Cuningham Gallery / 15 Rivington Street  / bettycuninghamgallery.com

Emily Noelle Lambert: Bellow / May 18 – Jun 25 / Denny Gallery / 261 Broome Street  / dennygallery.com

Jo Baer, Michael E. Smith, Josh Smith, Raphaela Vogel / Jun 1 – Jul 16 / Essex Street / 55 Hester Street  / essexstreet.biz

The Coverly Set (Group Exhibition) Deborah Anzinger, Charlie Billingham, Petra Cortright, Ann Craven, Keren Cytter, f.marquespenteado, Keltie Ferris, Daniel Gordon, David Harrison, Paul Heyer, Jaime Isenstein, Matthew Day Jackson, Jon Kessler, Suzanne McClelland, Evan Nesbit, Alexis Rockman, Jennifer Rubell, Cole Sayer, Philip Taaffe, Leslie Thornton, Theo Triantafyllidis, Chloe Wise / May 24 – Jun 30 /  Sargent’s Daughters / 179 East Broadway / sargentsdaughters.com

Pieter Schoolwerth: Model as Painting / May 21 – Jun 28 / Miguel Abreu Gallery (Orchard) / 36 Orchard Street / miguelabreugallery.com

Drew Shiflett: Paper and Canvas – Constructed Drawings / May 17 – Jun 30 / Lesley Heller Workspace / 54 Orchard Street / www.lesleyheller.com

Noam Rappaport: CUSP / May 31 – Jun 25 / James Fuentes / 55 Delancy Street  / www.jamesfuentes.com

Medrie MacPhee: Scavenge / Jun 15 – Jul 28 / Tibor de Nagy Gallery / 11/15 Rivington St (at Betty Cuningham) / www.tibordenagy.com

Kristen Jensen: Lighter Later / Jun 4 – Jul 23 / Miller / 17 Essex Street / www.millercontemporary.nyc

TRIBECA

Sylvia Plimack Mangold: Summer and Winter / May 02 – Jun 24 / Alexander and Bonin /  47 Walker Street / www.alexanderandbonin.com

Upper East Side

Daniel Heidkamp / Jun 7 – Jul 15 / Half Gallery / 43 East 78th Street  /  halfgallery.com

Painting the Visible World: American Women Realists, curated by Jody B. Cutler / Jun 8 – Jul 22 /  Bernarducci.Meisel.Gallery / 37 West 57th Street, 3rd Floor  / bernarduccimeisel.com

Betty Parsons Invisible Presence / May 25 – Jul 14 / Alexander Gray Associates / 510 West 26th Street  / alexandergray.com

Linden Frederick: Night Stories / May 11 – Jun 30 / Forum Gallery / 475 Park Avenue / forumgallery.com

Markus Lüpertz: New Paintings / May 18 – Jul 07/ Michael Werner / 4 East 77th Street / michaelwerner.com

POPE.L: Proto-Skin Set / May 23 to June 30 /  Mitchell-Innes & Nash (Upper East Side) / 1018 Madison Avenue / www.miandn.com

George Condo: New Works / April 27 – June 24 / Skarstedt (Uptown) / 20 East 79th Street / www.skarstedt.com

Claude Viallat Oeuvres Majeures 1967 – 2017  / May 6 – Jul 15 / Ceysson & Bénétière | New York / 956 Madison Avenue / ceyssonbenetiere.com

Harlem

Rico Gatson: Icons 2007–2017 / April 20 – Aug- 27 / Studio Museum in Harlem / 144 West 125th Street / www.studiomuseum.org

Brian Belott: Dr. Kid President Jr. /  May 03 – Jul 01 / Gavin Brown’s Enterprise (429 W. 127) / 429 West 127th Street  / www.gavinbrown.biz/

Ellen Berkenblit at Anton Kern, Midtown

Midtown

Ellen Berkenblit / May 25 – Jul 7 / Anton Kern Gallery / 16 East 55th Street  / antonkerngallery.com

Nicole Eisenman / June 01 to July 01/  Anton Kern / 16 East 55th Street / antonkerngallery.com

Joanna Pousette-Dart in “Aspects of Abstraction” with Marina Adams, Paul Feeley, and Leon Polk Smith at Lisson Gallery 138 10th Avenue

Chelsea

Aspects of Abstraction: Marina Adams, Paul Feeley, Joanna Pousette-Dart, and Leon Polk Smith / Jun 23 – Aug 11 / Lisson Gallery / 138 10th Avenue1/ lissongallery.com

Group Show: Citing/Sightings / Jun 22 – Sep 16 /  Lennon, Weinberg, Inc /
514 West 25th Street / www.lennonweinberg.com

Hybrid Form: Frank Badur, Omar Chacon, Freddy Chandra, Kevin Finklea, Ted Larsen, Joanne Mattera, and Richard Roth / Jun 3 – Jul 21 / Margaret Thatcher Projects / 539 West 23rd Street / www.thatcherprojects.com

Group Exhibition curated by Danny Rolph Last Picture Show with Chris Ofili, Danny Rolph, Diana Copperwhite, Elio Rodriguez, Jill Levine, Mary Heilmann, Rebecca Smith, Vanessa Jackson / May 11 – Jun 29 / 532 Gallery Thomas Jaeckel / 532 West 25th Street, HighLine Level  / 532gallery.com

Chantal Joffe / May 25 – Jun 30 / Cheim & Read / 547 West 25th Street  /  www.cheimread.com

The Times (with more than 80 artists) / Jun 1 – Aug 11 / The Flag Art Foundation / 545 West 25th Street, 9th Floor  / flagartfoundation.org

Jean Shin at Pioneer Works, Redhook, Brooklyn.

Two Coats of Paint is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution – Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. To use content beyond the scope of this license, permission is required.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *