Link list: Recommended exhibitions around town

If you have time to see some exhibitions in New York, here are a few promising shows to check out around town. In case you can’t make it IRL, links to the gallery websites are provided. Image at top: Elena Sisto @Lori Bookstein in Chelsea.


Loic Raguénès @ Clearing, Bushwick

Brooklyn and Queens (Check for hours of the galleries in Brooklyn and Queens–all are slightly different.)
Theodore:Art / 56 Bogart Street, Bushwick / theodoreart.com / Michelle Vaughan Generations / Feb 26 – Apr 3, 2016Slag Gallery /56 Bogart Street, Bushwick / slaggallery.com / Joy Garnett Ends of the Earth / Mar 25 – Apr 24, 2016 Reception: Fri Mar 25 6pm – 9pmHoney Ramka / 56 Bogart Street / honeyramka.com / Katrina Fimmel Swerve / Feb 19 – Apr 3, 2016
Life on Mars / 56 Bogart Street, Bushwick / lifeonmarsgallery.com / Karmic / Mar 11 – Apr 10, 2016
ODETTA / 229 Cook Street / odettagallery.com / Nancy Baker, Steven Charles, Matthew Freiberghaus, Christopher Kaczmarek Rattle & Hummmmmm w Nancy Baker, Steven Charles, Matt Frieburghaus, and Chris Kaczmarek/ Mar 18 – Apr 17, 2016
Clearing / 396 Johnson Avenue, Bushwick / c-l-e-a-r-i-n-g.com / Loic Raguénès Old Sky New Prairies / Mar 17 – May 29, 2016
Cathouse FUNeral / 260 Richardson St. East Williamsburg / CathouseFUNeral.com/ Michael Ashkin Dismal Dreaming / Mar 26 – May 1, 2016 Reception: Sat Mar 26 7pm – 10pm
Gallery 106 Green / 104 Green Street, ground floor, Greenpoint / 106green.com / Nick Irzyk Triple Andrew / Mar 12 – Apr 10, 2016
Owen James / 61 Greenpoint Avenue, Suite 315, Greenpoint / www.owenjamesgallery.com / China Marks / Feb 27 – Mar 27, 2016. 
Cleopatra’s /110 Meserole Avenue, Greenpoint / cleopatras.us /Jessica Stockholder Works on Paper from the 1980s /Feb 21 – Mar 28, 2016
Valentine / 581 Woodward Avenue, Ridgewood / valentinegallery.blogspot.com / Dennis Kardon Reflections on the Surface / Mar 4 – Apr 3, 2016

 Rodney McMillian @ MoMA PS1, Long Island City

MoMA PS1 / 22-25 Jackson Avenue at 46th Avenue, Long Island City / momaps1.org / Rodney McMillian: Landscape Paintings / Apr 3 – Aug 29, 2016
Minus Space/ 16 Main Street, Suite A, DUMBO/ minusspace.com / Lynne Harlow: Ask the Sky, Baker Bridge Road / Feb 27 – Apr 9, 2016

Christopher Astley @ Tracy Williams on the Lower East Side

 Sarah Faux @ Garis & Hahn, Lower East Side

Lower East Side
Tracy Williams Ltd. / 55 Hester Street / tracywilliamsltd.com / Christopher Astley Conglomerations: backfill, slag & scree / Mar 11 – May 1, 2016
Thierry Goldberg Gallery / 103 Norfolk Street, ground floor / www.thierrygoldberg.com / Michael Stamm Just Like This Please / Feb 27 – Mar 26, 2016
Sargent’s Daughters / 179 East Broadway, Ground Floor / sargentsdaughters.com / Catherine Murphy Working Drawings / Feb 27 – Mar 27, 2016
Steven Harvey Fine Art Projects/ 208 Forsyth Street / shfap.com / Angela Dufresne Pleasure Tips / Mar 16 – Apr 17, 2016
McKenzie Fine Art Inc. / 55 Orchard Street / mckenziefineart.com / Judith Braun Homeostasis / Mar 20 – Apr 24, 2016
Garis & Hahn / 263 Bowery / garisandhahn.com / Beyond the Gaze: Women Painting women w Sarah Awad, Tatiana Berg, Sarah Faux, Jay Miriam /Mar 11 – Apr 17, 2016

 Mira Schor @ Lyles & King on the Lower East Side

Lyles & King / 106 Forsyth Street / lylesandking.com / Mira Schor Death Is A Conceptual Artist / Mar 18 – Apr 24, 2016
Betty Cuningham Gallery / 15 Rivington Street / bettycuninghamgallery.com / Jake Berthot In Color / Mar 12 – Apr 23, 2016
Lisa Cooley / 107 Norfolk Street / lisa-cooley.com / Sue Tompkins When Wayne Went / Feb 21 – Mar 27, 2016
Lucien Terras / 325 Broome Street / lucienterras.com / Heather Rowe Third Girl / Feb 28 – Apr 10, 2016
Louis B. James / 143B Orchard Street / www.louisbjames.com / Go Figure! / Mar 24 – May 1, 2016 Reception: Thu Mar 24 6pm – 8pm / A group show of figurative painting
INVISIBLE-EXPORTS /89 Eldridge Street / invisible-exports.com / Cary Leibowitz Nearly 30 year old stuff… / Feb 19 – Mar 27, 2016
11R / 195 Chrystie Street / 11rgallery.com / Volker Hüller / Mar 17 – Apr 24, 2016
Allen & Eldridge / 55 Delancey Street, Located below James Fuentes / allenandeldridge.tumblr.com / David Flaugher & Eric Schmid / Feb 26 – Mar 27, 2016

 Lauren Seiden @ Denny, Lower East Side

Denny Gallery / 261 Broome Street / dennygallery.com / Lauren Seiden Yesterday So Fast
Eli Ping Frances Perkins / 55-59 Chrystie Street, Suite 202 / elipingfrancesperkins.com / Tim Eastman / Feb 14 – Mar 27, 2016
Feuer/Mesler / 319 Grand Street, 2nd Floor / feuermesler.com / Jeremy Deprez / Feb 21 – Mar 26, 2016
Freight + Volume / 97 Allen Street / +12126917700 / freightandvolume.com / Meg Lipke Pliable Channels / Mar 5 – Apr 3, 2016
Equity Gallery / 245 Broome St / +12125420292 / nyartistsequity.org / Meghan Keane Displacement / Mar 1 – 26, 2016

 Meg Lipke @ Freight + Volume, Lower East Side

 TWO ON TWO installation shot @ The Hole on the Lower East Side

The Hole / 312 Bowery / theholenyc.com / TWO ON TWO / Mar 1 – Apr 3, 2016 / Johnny Abrahams, Matt Mignanelli, Palma Blank, Russell Tyler
James Cohan Gallery | Lower East Side / 291 Grand Street / jamescohan.com / Philip Hanson It is too difficult a Grace / Feb 26 – Apr 3, 2016
Kerry Schuss / 34 Orchard Street / kerryschuss.com / Robert Barber Freeway Series c.1970 / Mar 19 – Apr 17, 2016
Kansas Gallery / 210 Rivington Street / kansasgallery.com / Clay Ketter Recalcitration / Feb 28 – Apr 3, 2016
James Fuentes / 55 Delancey Street / jamesfuentes.com / Jannis Varelas Common People / Mar 3 – 28, 2016
Rachel Uffner / 170 Suffolk Street / www.racheluffnergallery.com / Hill of Munch w Brian Belott, Alicia Gibson, Wiley Guillot, Shara Hughes, and Walter Price / Feb 28 – Mar 27, 2016

 Sarah Braman @ Mitchell- Innes and Nash in Chelsea

Chelsea
Lori Bookstein Fine Art / 138 Tenth Avenue / loribooksteinfineart.com / Elena Sisto Afternoons /Mar 17 – Apr 23, 2016
David Zwirner / 537 West 20th Street / www.davidzwirner.com / Raoul De Keyser Drift / Mar 18 – Apr 23, 2016.
Garth Greenan Gallery / 529 West 20th Street, 10th Floor / www.garthgreenan.com / Mark Greenwold The Rumble of Panic Underlying Everything / Feb 18 – Mar 26, 2016
Bortolami Gallery / 520 West 20th Street / bortolamigallery.com /Daniel Buren Daniel Buren/Miami /Dec 1, 2015 – Nov 30, 2016
Skarstedt Gallery | 550 West 21st street / skarstedt.com / Nice Weather / Feb 25 – Apr 16, 2016/ Curated by David Salle
DANESE/COREY / 511 West 22nd Street / danesecorey.com / Emily Eveleth New Paintings / Mar 18 – Apr 16, 2016
Sikkema Jenkins & Co. / 530 West 22nd Street / sikkemajenkinsco.com / Keiichi Tanaami visible darkness, invisible darkness / Mar 17 – Apr 23, 2016

 Ted Larsen @ Margaret Thatcher, Chelsea

Margaret Thatcher Projects / 539 West 23rd Street, Ground Floor / thatcherprojects.com / Ted Larsen Industrial Park / Mar 17 – Apr 23, 2016
Marianne Boesky | Chelsea / 509 West 24th Street / marianneboeskygallery.com / Serge Alain Nitegeka Colour & Form in Black / Mar 17 – Apr 23, 2016
Jack Shainman Gallery | 524 West 24th Street / jackshainman.com / Barkley L. Hendricks / Mar 17 – Apr 23, 2016

 Gary Stephan @ Susan Inglett, Chelsea.

Susan Inglett Gallery / 522 West 24 Street / inglettgallery.com / Gary Stephan and Alina Tenser / Mar 17 – Apr 23, 2016
Berry Campbell / 530 West 24th Street, Ground Floor / www.berrycampbell.com / Raymond Hendler Paintings from the 1970s /Mar 17 – Apr 16, 2016
Lyons Wier Gallery / 542 West 24th Street / lyonswiergallery.com / James Austin Murray Super Massive Black Hole / Mar 10 – Apr 9, 2016
Edward Thorp Gallery / 210 11th Avenue, 6th Floor / edwardthorpgallery.com/ / 5 x 5 Recent Abstractions w Andrea Belag, Chuck Boyce, Jenifer Kobylarz, Rachel Malin, and Paul Pagk / Mar 24 – Apr 23, 2016 Reception: Thu Mar 24 6pm – 8pm
Winston Wächter Fine Art | New York / 530 West 25th Street, Ground Floor / winstonwachter.com / Peter Waite site/sight / Mar 10 – Apr 16, 2016
Pace / 510 West 25th Street / pacegallery.com / Qiu Xiaofei Double Pendulum / Mar 11 – Apr 23, 2016
Davidson Contemporary / 521 W 26th Street / www.davidsoncontemporary.com / Sam Messenger 13 Cycles / Feb 25 – Apr 9, 2016
Mitchell-Innes & Nash / 534 West 26th Street / +12127447400 / miandn.com / Sarah Braman You Are Everything / Mar 10 – Apr 16, 2016
Thomas Erben Gallery / 526 West 26th Street, Floor 4 / thomaserben.com / Joan Brown, Charles Garabedian, Jackie Gendel, Haley Josephs,Kyle Staver Painting Forward / Feb 18 – Apr 2, 2016
David Nolan Gallery / 527 West 29th Street, Ground Floor / davidnolangallery.com / Sandra Vásquez de la Horra / Mar 18 – Apr 30, 2016

West Village
Maccarone / 630 Greenwich Street / +12124314977 / maccarone.net / John Divola Theodore Street Project / Mar 12 – Apr 23, 2016

David Hammons @ Mnuchin, uptown.

Uptown
El Museo del Barrio/1230 Fifth Avenue / elmuseo.org / The Illusive Eye / Feb 3 – May 21, 2016
Mnuchin Gallery / 45 East 78th Street / mnuchingallery.com / David Hammons Five Decades / Mar 15 – May 27, 2016
Craig F. Starr Gallery / 5 East 73rd Street / craigstarr.com / Sylvia Plimack Mangold Floors and Rulers, 1967-76 / Feb 5 – Mar 26, 2016
Sandra Gering Inc / 14 East 63rd Street / sandrageringinc.com / Dove Bradshaw Angles / Feb 25 – Apr 2, 2016
Van Doren Waxter / 23 East 73rd Street, Second Floor / vandorenwaxter.com / Hedda Sterne Machines 1947-1951 / Mar 10 – Apr 29, 2016
Neue Galerie / 1048 Fifth Avenue / neuegalerie.org / Munch and Expressionism /Feb 18 – Jun 13, 2016
The Studio Museum in Harlem/ 144 West 125th Street / studiomuseum.org / Rodney McMillian Views of Main Street / Mar 24 – Jun 26, 2016

——-

NOTE: Check out the ArtForum ArtGuide for a comprehensive selection of exhibitions.

——

Two Coats of Paint is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution – Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. To use content beyond the scope of this license, permission is required.

Two Coats of Paint is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution – Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. To use content beyond the scope of this license, permission is required.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *