September 23: A selected list of exhibitions and openings

 Maureen Gallace @ 303 Gallery (Chelsea)

The following is a short list of exhibitions and openings, organized by neighborhood, that we think are worth checking out, either IRL or online. Note that the submission guidelines are included at the end of the post.


Brooklyn
Jared Bark Photobooth Works 1969-1976/ Southfirst / 60 N. 6th / thru 11/15 / southfirst.org /Opening 9/24 
No Irony Here: David Kramer, Paul Gagner, Claudia Bitran, and Cate Giordano / The Parlour Bushwick / 791 Bushwick Avenue / thru 11/1 / theparlourbushwick.com / Opening 9/25
Body Utopia: C. Ganesh, C. Haynes, R. Lehrer, S. Perry, P. Yolacan, C. Zavitsanos / Brooklyn Art Space / 168 7th / thru Oct 31, 2015 /www.trestlegallery.org / Opening 9/25
Samuel Laurence Cunnane / Theodore:Art / 56 Bogart / thru 10/25 / theodoreart.com / Opening 9/26
Smack Mellon Open Studios w Nadia Awad, Zachary Fabri, Donna Huanca, Nyeema Morgan, Lori Nix, Chat / Smack Mellon / 92 Plymouth / thru 9/27 smackmellon.org / Opening 9/26 /
Rachel Whiteread: Looking Out / Luhring Augustine /25 Knickerbocker / thru 12/20 / www.luhringaugustine.comMelissa Murray and Julia Westerbeke: ECHOES / A.I.R. Gallery (Artists in Residence) / 155 Plymouth (new location) thru 10/11 / http://airgallery.orgAndy Cross, Benjamin Degen, Alyssa Gorelick, Hein Koh, Ben Pederson, Dav Color Against Color, curated by Eric Hibit / Ortega y Gasset Projects / 363 Third/ thru 10/18 / oygprojects.com
Ecstatic Prismatic  / Honey Ramka / 56 Bogart / thru 10/11 / honeyramka.com
Jolie Laide / Life on Mars / 56 Bogart/ thru 10/4 / lomg.kassandramj.com/
Elana Herzog at Studio 10 / 56 Bogart / thru 10/11 / http://www.studio10bogart.com
Seeing Sound / Odetta / 229 Cook / thru 11/01/ www.odettagallery.com
Andrew Ross / Signal / 260 Johnson/ thru 10/24 / ssiiggnnaall.com
Xiao Fu : Pixel World and Justin Cooper / Storefront Bushwick /324 Ten Eyck / thru 10/11
www.storefrontbushwick.com
Libby Hartle | Shades and Shallows and Kristen Jensen | intermission / Outlet / 253 Wilson / thru 10/4/ www.outletbk.com
Jane Fine: Contents Under Pressure / Pierogi / 177 North 9 /thru 10/11 / www.pierogi2000.com
Gabriele Evertz: The Gray Question / Minus Space /16 Main / thru 10/31 / www.minusspace.com/
Jacob Goble BANKRUPT / Sardine / 286 Stanhope / thru 10/4 / sardinebk.com/

Rachel Whiteread @ Luhring Augustine  (Bushwick)

Queens
Uncanny/Figure: Holly Coulis, Jenny Dubnau, Angela Dufresne, David Fertig, Dennis Kardon, Elizabeth King, Richard Kizu-Blair, Matthew Miller, Sarah Peters, Rona Pondick, and Alexi Worth; curated by Lilly Wei / Dorsky Gallery Curatorial Programs / 11-03 45th Avenue / thru 12/13 / www.dorsky.org
Matthew Deleget, Jeff Feld, Molly Heron, John Tallman: Synthetic Synthesis / Sculpture Space NYC-Projects / 47-21 35th Street / thru Oct 24 / www.sculpturespacenyc.com/ssnyc-projects/

Matthew Deleget, Jeff Feld, Molly Heron, John Tallman: Synthetic Synthesis @ Sculpture Space NYC-Projects (Long Island City)

Helen O’Leary @ Lesley Heller

Lower East Side
Zak Prekop / Essex Street / 114 Eldridge / thru 10/25 / essexstreet.biz
Marcel Eichner / James Fuentes / 55 Delancey / thru 10/12 / jamesfuentes.com
Jessica Sanders, Ambiguous Warmth / KANSAS / 210 Rivington (new location) / thru 10/18 / kansasgallery.com
Thomas Lawson / Klaus von Nichtssagend Gallery / 54 Ludlow / thru 10/18 / www.klausgallery.com
Zachary Leener and Anne Neukamp/ Caitlin Keogh / Lisa Cooley / 107 Norfolk/ thru 10/18 / www.lisa-cooley.com
Chris Hood Slow Drag in Margaritaville / Lyles & King / 106 Forsyth / thru 10/4 / lylesandking.com
Leah Beeferman, Strong Force / Rawson Projects / 221 Madison Street / thru 10/25 / rawsonprojects.com/
Richard Long: Crescent to Cross / Sperone Westwater / 257 Bowery / thru 10/24 / www.speronewestwater.com
Chip Hughes at KS Art / Kerry Schuss / 34 Orchard Street / thru 10/10 / kerryschuss.com Erin O’Keefe, Things as They Are / Denny / 261 Broome / thru 10/11 / dennygallery.com
Corey Escoto / Regina Rex /221 Madison / thru10/10 / www.reginarex.org
Judy Glantzman: Dressing for the Carnival/ Betty Cuningham Gallery / 15 Rivington / thru10/17 / www.bettycuninghamgallery.com/
Jackie Saccoccio / Eleven Rivington /11 Rivington /thru10/18 / www.elevenrivington.com
Julia Bland/ On Stellar Rays / 133 Orchard /thru 10/25 / www.onstellarrays.com
Helen O’Leary and Who: Group Exhibition / Lesley Heller Workspace 54 Orchard / thru 10/18 / http://www.lesleyheller.com/
Kyle Staver, Tall Tales at Steven Harvey Fine Art Projects /208 Forsyth / thru10/11 /www.shfap.com
Linda Gallagher, Short Timing the Dawn / Junior Projects / 139 Norfolk / thru 10/18 / juniorprojects.com
Emily Mae Smith: Medusa / Laurel Gitlen / 122 Norfolk Street/ thru 10/25/ laurelgitlen.com
Stephen Maine: New Paintings / Hionas Gallery LES / 124 Forsyth / thru 10/04 / www.hionasgallery.com
Herman Nitsch / Marc Straus / 299 Grand / thru 10/18 / www.marcstraus.com

Jane Fine @ Pierogi (Williamsburg)

East Village
Betty Tompkins: Real Ersatz / FUG /431 East 6 /thru October 17/ bhqfu.org/gallery/real-ersatz
Special Guest Curated by Bernard Ceysson Gallery: Denis Castellas, Franck Chalendard, Joe Fyfe, Sadie Laska, Lauren Luloff, Alexander Nolan, Eric Palgon, Wallace Whitney / Zürcher Gallery / thru ? / 33 Bleecker / galeriezurcher.com

West Village
Laurel Sparks: Rubedo / Kate Werble Gallery / 83 Vandam / thru 10/24 / www.katewerblegallery.com
Claudia & Julia Müller / Maccarone / 98 Morton / thru 10/17 / www.maccarone.net/

Diphthong: Michael Brennan, Jaq Chartier, Elizabeth Cooper, Anoka Faruqee,
Rosemarie Fiore, Julia Klein, Stephen Maine, Gelah Penn, Thomas Pihl, Michael A.
Robinson, Kara Rooney, Susan Still Scott, Denise Treizman, Rebecca Ward, Leslie
Wayne, Carrie Yamaoka and John Zinsser / Shirley  Fiterman  Art Center  / 81 Barclay  / 9/29 thru 11/14 / Opening 9/29 (south of the West Village) / www.bmcc.cuny.edu/sfac/

Chelsea
Dana Schutz: Fight in an Elevator / Petzel Gallery / 456 West 18 / thru 10/24 / petzel.com
Isa Genzken / David Zwirner / 519 West 19 / thru 10/31/ www.davidzwirner.comGordon Matta-Clark: Energy & Abstraction / David Zwirner / 537 West 20 / thru 10/24 / www.davidzwirner.com
Ivan Morley / Bortolami / 520 West 20 / thru 10/25 / bortolamigallery.com
Sarah Sze at Tanya Bonakdar Gallery / 521 West 21/ thru 10/17 / www.tanyabonakdargallery.com
Mark Grotjahn: Painted Sculpture / Anton Kern / 532 West 20/ thru 10/29 / www.antonkerngallery.com
Maureen Gallace / 303 Gallery / 547 West 21 / thru 10/31 / www.303gallery.com
Terry Haggerty / Sikkema Jenkins / 530 West 22 / thru 10/17 / www.sikkemajenkinsco.com
Robert Overby Persistence. Repeated / Andrew Kreps / 537/535 W 22 / thru 10/31 / andrewkreps.com
Billy Childish flowers, nudes and birch trees: New Paintings 2015 / Lehmann Maupin
536 W 22 / thru 10/31 / www.lehmannmaupin.com 
Julie Schenkelberg: Embodied Energies / Asya Geisberg Gallery / 537B West 23 / thru 10/24 / www.asyageisberggallery.com
Walter Swennen / Gladstone / 515 West 24 / thru 10/17 / www.gladstonegallery.com
Anne Truitt in Japan / Matthew Marks / 523 West 24 / thru 10/24 / www.matthewmarks.com
Josiah McElheny: Paintings / Andrea Rosen / 525 W 24 / thru 10/24 / www.andrearosengallery.com
James Gortner: New Work / Lyons Wier Gallery / 542 W. 24 / thru ? / www.lyonswiergallery.com
Keegan McHargue Topical / Fredericks & Freiser / 536 West 24 / thru 10/10 / http://www.fredericksfreisergallery.com/
Josh Smith: Sculpture / Luhring Augustine / 531 West 24 / thru 10/31 / www.luhringaugustine.com
Adam Fuss / Cheim & Read / 547 West 25 / thru 10/10 / www.cheimread.com
Painting is not doomed to repeat itself / Hollis Taggart / 521 West 26 / thru 10/13 / www.hollistaggart.com
Grant Foster, Salad Days / Ana Cristea Gallery / 521 West 26 / thru 10/10 / www.anacristeagallery.com/
Dona Nelson /Thomas Erben Gallery/ 526 West 26 / thru 10/31 / thomaserben.com
Keltie Ferris / Mitchell-Innes & Nash / 534 West 26 / thru 10/17 / www.miandn.com
Annette Davidek and Sarah Hinckley Paintings and Watercolors / Littlejohn / 547 West 27 / thru 10/3 / littlejohncontemporary.com
Karl Wirsum / Derek Eller / 615 West 27 / thru 10/17 / www.derekeller.com


Midtown and Upper East Side
Sergej Jensen at Galerie Buchholz / 17 East 82 /thru 10/31 / www.galeriebuchholz.de/
Susan Jane Walp / Tibor de Nagy / 724 5th / thru 10/17 / tibordenagy.comJackie Saccoccio: Degree of Tilt / Van Doren Waxter / 23 East 73 / thru 10/23 / www.vandorenwaxter.com
Katherine Bernhardt: Pablo & Efrain / Venus Over Manhattan / 980 Madison /thru 10/24 / venusovermanhattan.com/
Joan Witek: Paintings / Jason McCoy / 41 East 57 / thru 9/30 / www.jasonmccoyinc.com
Picasso Sculpture / Museum of Modern Art / 11 West 53 / thru 2/7 / www.moma.org

Submissions: For consideration in the next list, please send listings to twocoatsofpaint@gmail.com. In the subject area, please format the text as follows: Artist and name of show / Gallery / Street addresss / dates /website URL. It takes a village. Thanks!

——

Two Coats of Paint is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution – Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. For permission to use content beyond the scope of this license, permission is required. 

Two Coats of Paint is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution – Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. To use content beyond the scope of this license, permission is required.

1 thought on “September 23: A selected list of exhibitions and openings”

Leave a Reply to Anonymous Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *