Fall Preview: Recommended openings this week

All the galleries are having openings this week, and since Andrew Ginzel has decided to take a hiatus from “SOME but not all NYC SELECTED SHOWS TO SEE while he pursues other projects, I have put together my own short list of openings, organized by date, that I think are worth checking out. Note that the guidelines to submit exhibitions are included at the end of the post. See you out there!

[Image at top: Dana Schutz, Lion Eating Its Tamer, 2015, oil on canvas, 83.5 x 89 inches. At Petzel.]

Julia Bland @ On Stellar Rays
 

——————————–
Wednesday, September 9

LES
Erin O’Keefe, Things as They Are / Denny / 261 Broome / thru 10/11 / dennygallery.com
Corey Escoto / Regina Rex /221 Madison / thru10/10 / www.reginarex.org
Judy Glantzman: Dressing for the Carnival/ Betty Cuningham Gallery / 15 Rivington / thru10/17 / www.bettycuninghamgallery.com/
Jackie Saccoccio / Eleven Rivington /11 Rivington /thru10/18 / www.elevenrivington.com
Julia Bland/ On Stellar Rays / 133 Orchard /thru 10/25 / www.onstellarrays.com
Helen O’Leary and Who: Group Exhibition / Lesley Heller Workspace 54 Orchard / thru 10/18 / http://www.lesleyheller.com/
Kyle Staver, Tall Tales at Steven Harvey Fine Art Projects /208 Forsyth / thru10/11 /www.shfap.com
Linda Gallagher, Short Timing the Dawn / Junior Projects / 139 Norfolk / thru 10/18 / juniorprojects.com
Emily Mae Smith: Medusa / Laurel Gitlen / 122 Norfolk Street/ thru 10/25/ laurelgitlen.com
Stephen Maine: New Paintings / Hionas Gallery LES / 124 Forsyth / thru 10/04 / www.hionasgallery.com
Herman Nitsch / Marc Straus / 299 Grand / thru 10/18 / www.marcstraus.com

Chelsea
Gordon Matta-Clark: Energy & Abstraction / David Zwirner / 537 West 20 / thru 10/24 / www.davidzwirner.com

UES
Jackie Saccoccio: Degree of Tilt / Van Doren Waxter / 23 East 73/ thru 10/23 / http://www.vandorenwaxter.com
Katherine Bernhardt: Pablo & Efrain / Venus Over Manhattan / 980 Madison /thru 10/24 / venusovermanhattan.com/

——————————-
Thursday, September 10

Brooklyn
Melissa Murray and Julia Westerbeke: ECHOES / A.I.R. Gallery (Artists in Residence) / 155 Plymouth (new location) thru 10/11 / http://airgallery.org

LES
Chip Hughes at KS Art / Kerry Schuss / 34 Orchard Street / thru 10/10 / http://kerryschuss.com

Chelsea
Dana Schutz: Fight in an Elevator / Petzel Gallery / 456 West 18 thru 10/24 / http://petzel.com
Ivan Morley / Bortolami / 520 West 20 / thru 10/25 / bortolamigallery.com
Mark Grotjahn: Painted Sculpture / Anton Kern / 532 West 20/ thru 10/29 / http://www.antonkerngallery.com
Sarah Sze at Tanya Bonakdar Gallery / 521 West 21/ thru 10/17 / http://www.tanyabonakdargallery.com
Terry Haggerty / Sikkema Jenkins / 530 West 22 / thru 10/17 / www.sikkemajenkinsco.com
Billy Childish flowers, nudes and birch trees: New Paintings 2015 / Lehmann Maupin
536 W 22 / thru 10/31 / www.lehmannmaupin.com
Robert Overby Persistence. Repeated / Andrew Kreps / 537/535 W 22 / thru 10/31 / andrewkreps.com
Julie Schenkelberg: Embodied Energies / Asya Geisberg Gallery / 537B West 23 / thru 10/24 / www.asyageisberggallery.com
Josiah McElheny: Paintings / Andrea Rosen / 525 W 24 / thru 10/24 / www.andrearosengallery.com
Keegan McHargue Topical / Fredericks & Freiser / 536 West 24 / thru 10/10 / http://www.fredericksfreisergallery.com/
James Gortner: New Work / Lyons Wier Gallery / 542 W. 24 / thru ? / http://www.lyonswiergallery.com/
Adam Fuss / Cheim & Read / 547 West 25 / thru 10/10 / http://www.cheimread.com
Grant Foster, Salad Days / Ana Cristea Gallery / 521 West 26 / thru 10/10 / http://www.anacristeagallery.com/
Keltie Ferris / Mitchell-Innes & Nash / 534 West 26 / thru 10/17 / http://www.miandn.com
Karl Wirsum / Derek Eller / 615 West 27 / thru 10/17 / http://www.derekeller.com

UES
Sergej Jensen at Galerie Buchholz / 17 East 82 /thru 10/31 / www.galeriebuchholz.de/
Susan Jane Walp / Tibor de Nagy / 724 5th / thru 10/17 / tibordenagy.com

Josiah McElheny: Paintings / Andrea Rosen

—————————–
Friday, September 11

Brooklyn
Andy Cross, Benjamin Degen, Alyssa Gorelick, Hein Koh, Ben Pederson, Dav Color Against Color, curated by Eric Hibit / Ortega y Gasset Projects / 363 Third/ thru 10/18 / oygprojects.com
Ecstatic Prismatic  / Honey Ramka / 56 Bogart / thru 10/11 / honeyramka.com
Jolie Laide / Life on Mars / 56 Bogart/ thru 10/4 / lomg.kassandramj.com/
Elana Herzog at Studio 10 / 56 Bogart / thru 10/11 / http://www.studio10bogart.com
Seeing Sound / Odetta / 229 Cook / thru 11/01/ www.odettagallery.com
Andrew Ross / Signal / 260 Johnson/ thru 10/24 / ssiiggnnaall.com
Xiao Fu : Pixel World and Justin Cooper / Storefront Bushwick /324 Ten Eyck / thru 10/11
www.storefrontbushwick.com
Libby Hartle | Shades and Shallows and Kristen Jensen | intermission / Outlet / 253 Wilson / thru 10/4/ www.outletbk.com
Jane Fine: Contents Under Pressure / Pierogi / 177 North 9 /thru 10/11 / http://www.pierogi2000.com
 
LES
Richard Long: Crescent to Cross / Sperone Westwater / 257 Bowery / thru 10/24 / www.speronewestwater.com


West Village
Laurel Sparks: Rubedo / Kate Werble Gallery / 83 Vandam / thru 10/24 / www.katewerblegallery.com

Chelsea
Josh Smith: Sculpture / Luhring Augustine / 531 West 24 / thru 10/31 / www.luhringaugustine.com
Anne Truitt in Japan / Matthew Marks / 523 West 24 / thru 10/24 / www.matthewmarks.com

—————————
Saturday, September 12

Brooklyn
Gabriele Evertz: The Gray Question / Minus Space /16 Main / thru 10/31 / www.minusspace.com/
Jacob Goble BANKRUPT / Sardine / 286 Stanhope / thru 10/4 / sardinebk.com/

LES
Zak Prekop / Essex Street / 114 Eldridge / thru 10/25 / essexstreet.biz
Marcel Eichner / James Fuentes / 55 Delancey / thru 10/12 / jamesfuentes.com
Jessica Sanders, Ambiguous Warmth / KANSAS / 210 Rivington (new location) / thru 10/18 / kansasgallery.com
Thomas Lawson / Klaus von Nichtssagend Gallery / 54 Ludlow / thru 10/18 / www.klausgallery.com
Zachary Leener and Anne Neukamp/ Caitlin Keogh / Lisa Cooley / 107 Norfolk/ thru 10/18 / www.lisa-cooley.com
Chris Hood Slow Drag in Margaritaville / Lyles & King / 106 Forsyth / thru 10/4 / lylesandking.com
Leah Beeferman, Strong Force / Rawson Projects / 221 Madison Street / thru 10/25 / rawsonprojects.com/

West Village

Claudia & Julia Müller / Maccarone / 98 Morton / thru 10/17 / www.maccarone.net/

————————–
Sunday, September 13

Brooklyn
Wealths Uncommon (discussion) / Centotto / 250 Moore Street, #108 / centotto.com/

———————————–
Submissions: For consideration in the next list, please send listings to twocoatsofpaint@gmail.com. In the subject area, please format the text as follows: Artist and name of show / Gallery / Street addresss / dates /website URL.
It takes a village. Thanks!

——

Two Coats of Paint is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution – Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. For permission to use content beyond the scope of this license, permission is required.

Two Coats of Paint is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution – Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. To use content beyond the scope of this license, permission is required.

Tags:

1 thought on “Fall Preview: Recommended openings this week”

  1. Thanks for the shows to see lists! Very helpful!

    Do check out a show at Scaramouche gallery at 52 Orchard St. It is a mini retrospective of paintings by Antonio Scaccabarozzi, who used plastic and other interesting materials in the 70's, 80's and 90's in Milan. He died young in a motorcycle accident. He was shown with Burri and Fontana and his work is known in italy, but never been seen here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *